April 2019
News & Resources

People in the industry

Drilling rigs and capital drilling equipment sales and service company, HENDERSON, has named Billy Rogers as president of drilling products.
Michele Cowart / World Oil

Drilling rigs and capital drilling equipment sales and service company, HENDERSON, has named Billy Rogers as president of drilling products. Rogers brings more than 40 years of oilfield experience to the role. Prior to this, he was the founder and president of HP Piping Solutions, acquired by the company in 2018. In addition, he managed construction, refurbishment and upgrades of land and offshore rigs for Nabors, Atwood Oceanics and Roberds-Johnson Industries. 

Alexander Medvedev has been relieved of his post as deputy chairman of the management committee at Gazprom. In his next role, Medvedev will focus on the International Business Congress and FC Zenit. In addition, Valery Golubev has been relieved of his post as deputy chairman of the management committee. Also, Vsevolod Cherepanov has been relieved of his post as head of Department 307. He will continue his work in a different position at the Gazprom Group.

Tullow Oil plc has appointed Sheila Khama and Genevieve Sangudi as non-executive directors, Khama is a policy adviser on the mineral, oil and gas industries at the World Bank in Washington. Sangudi is a managing director for The Carlyle Group, based in South Africa, where she has over 15 years of investment experience. In addition, Tutu Agyare will resign as a non-executive director after serving on the board for nine years. Following this change, Jeremy Wilson will chair the remuneration committee.

International oilfield services company, Expro, has made two executive management appointments. Executive V.P. Alistair Geddes has been promoted to COO. Geddes has been with the company for six years, and prior to this, held leadership roles with Weatherford, BG Group and ExxonMobil. In addition, Keith Palmer has been promoted to executive V.P. – product lines. Palmer has been with the company for over 13 years, previously leading the company’s North America and ECIS regions, before assuming responsibility as the president of Asia-Pacific region.

Encana has named Corey D. Code as executive V.P. & CFO, effective May 1, 2019. Sherri A. Brillonwho has served as the company’s CFO since 2009, will be retiring at the end of May 2019. Code has served since 1999 in numerous positions of increasing responsibility within the organization. He most recently held the role of V.P., investor relations and strategy, and in other leadership positions, including treasurer and V.P., portfolio management. 

Donald L. Paul has been appointed to Berry Petroleum’s board of directors. Paul currently serves as executive director of the University of Southern California Energy Institute, the William M. Keck chair of energy resources, and research professor of engineering at USC. He is a recognized authority in industry studies and the intersection it has with digital technology.

WFS Technologies has appointed Moray Melhuish to the created role of commercial director. Melhuish brings a long track record in subsea to the company, including business development director at ROVOP, and sales and marketing of a 125-system fleet of work-class ROVs at i-Tech, a division of Subsea 7.  

UK conventional oil and gas production and development company Angus Energy has named Patrick “Paddy” Clanwilliam as non-executive chairman. Clanwilliam’s previous responsibilities included the chair of Eurasia Drilling Company Limited. He is also a former non-executive director of SOMA Oil & Gas. He brings over 30 years of experience to the role. In addition, Carlos Fernandes has been named finance director. Prior to his appointment Fernandes held the role of CFO. Andrew Hollis has been named technical director and brings over 40 years of experience in all technical aspects of oil and gas E&P to the role. Also, the board has accepted the resignation of non-executive director, Chris de Goey. 

After more than 18 years of service with Nissan Chemical America Corporation (NCA), Robert GriffithV.P. of NCA’s Pasadena plant, is retiring. During his tenure, he has worked to develop the company’s manufacturing capabilities in South Texas, including oversight of three major expansions of the plant, construction of a new laboratory, and the startup of various new product lines.

Reactive Downhole Tools, independent supplier of well completion solutions, has named Niall Urquhart as V.P., Eastern Hemisphere. Urquhart has over 10 years of experience, including project engineer for Baker Hughes, a GE company, and regional sales manager – Middle East for Interwell.

Gary E. Gould has been named EQT Corporation’s executive V.P. and COO. Gould has more than three decades of industry experience, including direct experience in the Marcellus basin. He most recently served as senior V.P., production and resource development, at Continental Resources.

Kaes Van’t Hofcurrently senior V.P. of strategy and corporate development, has been appointed CFO and executive V.P. of business development for Diamondback, and will remain president of Viper Energy Partners LP. Tracy Dick assumes the role of chief accounting officer and executive V.P. for Diamondback and will remain CFO of Viper. In addition, Matt Zmigrosky has become executive V.P., general counsel and secretary, replacing Randall Holderwho has retired. Also, Russell Pantermuehlexecutive V.P. of reservoir engineering, assumes the role of executive V.P. and chief engineer. Jennifer Solimansenior V.P. and chief HR officer, has been promoted to executive V.P. and chief HR officer. Thomas Hawkinssenior V.P. of land, has been promoted to executive V.P. of Land. Paul Molnarexecutive V.P. of exploration and business development, has retired.

Nabors Industries has expanded its board to seven members and appointed Anthony R. “Tony” Chase to fill the vacancy. Chase is the chairman and CEO of ChaseSource, L.P., a Houston-based staffing and real estate development firm. In addition, he was a founder of mobile phone provider Cricket Wireless and ChaseCom, L.P., a global customer relationship management and staffing services company, until its sale to AT&T Inc. in 2007. Also, Chase has served as a director of both Anadarko Petroleum Corporation and Paragon Offshore plc since 2014.

BHP has appointed Ian Cockerill and Susan Kilsby to the company’s board as independent non-executive directors. Cockerill has extensive mining experience, including chief executive, operational, strategic and technical roles. He was formerly the CEO of Anglo Coal and Gold Fields Limited. Kilsby brings extensive experience in finance and strategy, having held several roles in global investment banking. 

Vallourec’s supervisory board has nominated Maria-Pilar Albiac-Murillo, Philippe Altuzarra and Pascale Chargrasseto renewed positions on the board, during their upcoming shareholder meeting. In addition, Corinne de Bilbao, president & CEO of GE France, since March 2016, has been selected as a replacement for José Carlos Grubisich, who has resigned from the board. Prior to this, Bilbao held the role of V.P. of sales, subsea division, of GE Oil & Gas.

About the Authors
Michele Cowart
World Oil
Michele Cowart Michele.Cowart@WorldOil.com
Connect with World Oil
Connect with World Oil, the upstream industry's most trusted source of forecast data, industry trends, and insights into operational and technological advances.